A circular-shaped fortress, with a diameter of about 80 m and a height of 5 to 8 m, was discovered in the heart of the village, on the Old Moldovan Road. It is an edifice that presents characteristics of an ancient Geto-Dacian or Slavic fortification from the early medieval period of the great migrations. Scientists are yet to express their opinion regarding the fortress’s origin, however, travelers can always see it not far from the beach on the Nistru River. No one knows what the village used to be called in the past, but the legend says that the actual name of the village comes from the name – Tudora. It is believed that the founder of the village built a small khan not far from the Old Moldovan Road, and later her sons and grandchildren founded the village which, till the present day, bears her name.
Ancient Greek armor and weapons were discovered on the territory of the village. Although the locals claim that the village dates back to 1410 (or even to 1407), the scholar Boris Malski refers to the records of a French traveler, who mentions Tudora in his travel notes from 1585; other documents present records about the village from 1595, and on an old map from 1770, a Tatar hamlet, Hagi Hasan, can be found located on the Old Moldovan Road not far from Crocmaz (present Tudora).
Apart from the newly discovered fortress, the village is also known for the old slums (Baibol, Moara, Sofia, Ciuleac, Ciuduc, Ţiganilor, Maricica, Ţâmbala, Surda, Câşleanu) and also here, one can find the old church “St. Averachie “(erected in 1866 on the site of the wooden church from 1808/1811). During the Soviet period the church also served as the Museum of study of the native land (the initiative of the professor of geography, Tudor Ciumac). The reopening of the church happened in the 1990s;
The geo-paleontological monument “Râpa de Piedra”;
For several years, the locals of the village have had 2 favorite places to spend time – La Movila and Vadul Nistru in Baibol, where today is the beach. Now we go to the riverside lakes (Balcazia, Ochiul Boului et al.), Cazionea Forest, picturesque valleys (Cărnăcari, Râpa de la piedra, Câzâlgic, Iriderea, Bostanului, Popii, Sofia, Robului, Marici-ca, Steluța), movile from the village (Geamăna, to Câşla Pălăncii), the fords to the Dniester
The basket, the Simad’s Vad, the source of his grandfatherGheorghiță, Suhat. Events: a unique festival in Moldova is held annually in July “Hai la persici”
R PA DE STONE ”FROM SATUL TUDORA
On a surface of 2 ha, the natural geo-paleontological monument is located in the village, at 190 m from the river Nistru. In 1914, the scientist F. Frolov discovered in the sands here many bones of the representatives of 11 species of the Hipparion fauna. The small works of planning the protected area facilitate the access of the visitors. It can be reached here on the R30, R52 and L530 roads (through Crocmaz village); it is accessible without entrance fees year round.
- Chilian Marina (crochet, crochet, embroidery)
- Tatiana Barbăneagră (knitting, crocheting, embroidery, weaving, pottery)
- Marina Babei (knitting, crocheting, embroidery, weaving)
- Maria Cravcenco (crochet, embroidery)
- Mihai Gavriuc (plaiting in the slab)