In the Lower Dniester area, one can find the locality with the oldest documented history in the district – Cioburciu village (which in different sources dates back to either 1405 or even earlier, around 1362).
In 1535 the voivode Petru Rares names Tomsa Parcalab of the Cioburciu fortress responsible for the defense of the villages of the Dniester, including Chisinaul Mare (today – Carnateni), Talmaza, Rascaieti, Purcari and Olanesti. Following a number of archaeological digs, on the territory of the present village, large stone plates with Greek inscriptions (which date back to the second century) were discovered. In addition to that, 11 funerary tombs left by the nomadic tribes during the Great migrations of the people were also found in these territories.
The name probably derives from the word “ciubăr” (vat) – a large vessel made of wooden logs, with handles from which travelers would quench their thirst. Another meaning of the word is “thicket” or “dense forest place”, as these places once were. It is well known that in medieval Moldova, on the Lower Dniester segment there were two royal centers of power (Palanca Fortress and Cioburciu Parcalaby), located on the “Great Moldavian Road” between Tighina and Cetatea Alba. “This is a flourishing village of Tatars and Wallachians, consisting of five hundred houses covered with reed, a mosque and seventy booths, being governed by Turkish commander and forming part of the county of Tighina. Once a week there is a big bazaar here. Because the village is located on the Dniester riverbank, there are many vineyards and orchards ”, – the Turkish traveler Evlia Celebi wrote in 1657.
The times have changed, while the village has remained as picturesque as it used to be. A specific place in the village, however, is particularly interesting – the “lever” of the Dniester plain. It is unknown whether it used to be an ancient fortress or a fragment of the Trajan’s Wall. In 1772 there was a wooden church in the village, which was then rebuilt using stone. The church existed until the mid-XX century. The recent “St. Dumitru” church was built on a new site in the early 2000s.
Other places to visit in Cioburciu:
The local museum inside the school,
The “Craftsman Faur” craft center with training and accommodation spaces.
at the entrance to the village, there is a geo-paleontological natural monument, “Rapa lui Albu” ravine, while in the village, one can see representative of the local architecture old houses, old cellars and secular fountains.
Reni – beach on the Dniester riverbank (forests with secular trees),
Meanders of the Dniester (Neagului Angle, Palanca, Ambrus),
The three fountains that all have water with unique tastes.
“RAPA LUI ALBU” RAVINE FROM CIOBURCIU VILLAGE is a monument of geological and paleontological nature covering an area of 2 ha, located in the north of the village on the right bank of the Dniester river, near the forest of Olanesti. The name of the ravine is related to the name of a local who built his house near it. Here, the remains of about 24 species of fossilized animals were discovered, including the Hipparion (a species of horse that disappeared 22 million years ago) as well as the Deintherium giganteum. Thus, due to the fossilized fauna and the fossiled soils of the region, it is possible to study the evolution of the fauna and the geographical conditions of the past on Earth.
Popular craftsmen of the village: